Changes to the Basis of Claim Form in QuebecPlease note that the procedures for providing the Basis of Claim form in Quebec have temporarily changed in light of the recent surge in claims in that province.
Pilot Project Regarding the Presence of Children in Refugee Protection Division HearingsEffective September 1, 2017, the Refugee Protection Division will be launching a 6-month pilot project, whereby young children under the age of 12 who are accompanied by an adult making a refugee claim will not be required to appear before the RPD.
Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada to carry out audit of long-term detention reviewsIn line with its commitment to excellence in the delivery of administrative justice, the IRB will carry out an independent audit of detention reviews by the Immigration Division.
IRB launching Irregular Border Crossing Response Team to address large and growing number of border crossings in QuebecIn response to the large number of irregular border crossings from the United States by individuals seeking asylum in Canada, the IRB is launching an Irregular Border Crossing Response Team.
Refugee Protection Division and Refugee Appeal Division Interface MeetingsThe deputy chairpersons of the Refugee Protection Division and the Refugee Appeal Division have recently begun to meet to ensure that they are each aware of the pressures and priorities facing the other division.


Practice Notice: Revised Temporary Procedures for providing the Basis of Claim Form in QuebecThese revised procedures begin immediately, and apply to all refugee claims referred to the Refugee Protection Division (RPD) in Quebec from September 8th to October 31st, 2017 inclusive.
National Documentation Packages Update - 31 August 2017The National Documentation Packages for the following countries have been updated: Algeria, Belgium, Belize, Equatorial Guinea, Hong Kong, Hungary, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Liberia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia and Slovak Republic.
National Documentation Packages Update - 31 July 2017The following National Documentation Packages have been updated: Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Cambodia, Croatia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Fiji, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Indonesia, Mali, Mauritania, Qatar, Moldova, Swaziland and Ukraine.
National Documentation Packages Update - 30 June 2017The National Documentation Packages for the following countries have been updated: Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Gabon, Greece, Haiti, Malawi, Mongolia, Spain, Tajikistan, Uganda and Zimbabwe.


Waiting for a refugee protection hearing? Here’s what you should know
Legacy Claims
Refugee Claimant's Kit
Refugee Claim: Appellant's Kit

Stay Connected

YouTube Twitter News Feeds