Biography - Deputy Chairperson, Refugee Protection Division

Shereen Benzvy Miller, is the Deputy Chairperson of the Refugee Protection Division, Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.

A lawyer by training, Shereen joined the federal public service in the late 1990s when she was recruited by the Correctional Service of Canada for her experience as a human rights advocate. She worked with CSC until 2008 when she became the Director General responsible for the Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and Client Engagement in the Acquisitions Program at Public Works; where she was instrumental in the introduction of e-Strategy initiatives including the launch of buyandsell.gc.ca and a new approach to procurement embodied in the Build in Canada Innovation Program allowing the Canadian government to buy pre-commercialized innovations from Canadian companies.

She brought this experience with her to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, where she has worked within government to reduce barriers and improve services to business for small and medium enterprises wishing to do business in Canada. As the Assistant Deputy Minister for the Small Business, Tourism and Marketplace Services Sector, she founded the first Service Innovation Lab in the Government of Canada to help federal programs use design thinking to develop user-centric service delivery. Most recently, in May 2017, Shereen joined the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada as Deputy Chairperson of the Refugee Protection Division, taking on the challenge of leading the largest tribunal division of the IRB at a time when refugee determination is front and center in Canada’s priorities.

A mother of two, a champion for the rights of persons with disabilities and a dedicated mental health advocate, Shereen is the recipient of the WeConnect International Canada Champion of the Year for 2016 award.  In 2015, Shereen was named one of Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women by the Women's Executive Network, she received the Queen’s Jubilee Medal (2013), the Public Sector Leadership in Advanced Technology Award (2010) and the “Justice for Everyone” Breast Badge for her great personal contribution to the reform of the Latvian Prison System (2000).

Biographie - Vice-présidente, Section de la protection des réfugiés

Shereen Benzvy Miller est la vice-présidente de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) à la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR).

Avocate de formation, Shereen s’est jointe à la fonction publique fédérale à la fin des années 1990, quand elle a été recrutée par le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) pour son expérience en tant que défenseur des droits de la personne. Elle a travaillé au SCC jusqu’en 2008, lorsqu’elle est devenue la directrice générale responsable du Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises, Secteur de l’engagement des clients dans le cadre du Programme des approvisionnements de Travaux publics, où elle a participé à l’introduction des initiatives en stratégies électroniques, y compris le lancement du site achatsetventes.gc.ca et d’une nouvelle approche d’approvisionnement intégrée au Programme d’innovation Construire au Canada, qui permet au gouvernement canadien d’acheter des innovations pré-commerciales d’entreprises canadiennes.

Elle fait profiter Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada de sa vaste expérience en travaillant au sein du gouvernement pour réduire les obstacles et améliorer les services aux petites et moyennes entreprises souhaitant faire des affaires au Canada. En tant que sous-ministre adjointe au Secteur des services axés sur le marché, le tourisme et la petite entreprise, elle a créé le premier laboratoire d’innovation des services au gouvernement du Canada en vue d’aider les programmes fédéraux à se servir de la pensée conceptuelle (design thinking) pour établir une prestation de services axés sur l’utilisateur. Tout dernièrement, en mai 2017, Shereen s’est jointe à la CISR à titre de vice-présidente de la SPR, relevant le défi de diriger la plus grande section du tribunal administratif qu’est la CISR.

Mère de deux enfants, championne des droits des personnes handicapées, promotrice active de la santé mentale, Shereen s’est vu décerner le prix de championne du Canada de 2016 de WeConnect International. En 2015, Shereen a été nommée parmi les 100 Canadiennes les plus influentes par le Réseau des femmes exécutives. En outre, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la reine (2013), le prix du chef de file en technologie de pointe du secteur public (2010) ainsi que le prix « Justice pour tous » pour sa contribution personnelle hors pair à la réforme du système d’incarcération de Lettonie (2000).