Former Chairpersons of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada

1989-1992

Photo of Gordon Fairweather 1989-1992 From 1989 to 1992 Gordon Fairweather served as the IRB's founding Chairperson.

From 1952 to 1962, he was a member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick and served as provincial Attorney General from 1958 to 1962. He was later elected to the House of Commons and sat as an MP until 1977.

In 1977, he was appointed the first Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Human Rights Commission and held that position until 1987. He was an official observer of elections in Zimbabwe, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Malaysia and headed the Canadian delegation at the U.N. Commission on Human Rights in Geneva on three occasions. In 1978, he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

He is still remembered by many at the IRB as a dedicated public servant and a vigorous human rights advocate. He died on December 24, 2008 at the age of 85.

1992-1999

Photo of Nurjehan Mawani 1992-1999 Mrs. Mawani began her public service career in 1986 as Vice-Chairperson and Member of the Immigration Appeal Board. She was subsequently named Deputy Chairperson of the Immigration Appeal Division at the Immigration and Refugee Board and served as its second Chairperson from 1992 to 1999.

As Chairperson, Mrs. Mawani issued the groundbreaking Guidelines on Children and on Women Refugee Claimants. These guidelines, the first of their kind in the world, led other countries to change their policies to recognize and take into account the unique challenges faced by refugee women.

Over the past four years Mrs. Mawani has worked in Central Asia, as Representative of the Aga Khan Development Network in the Kyrgyz Republic. In 2007, she was awarded the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) Canada Award for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of women. Mrs. Mawani is a member of the Order of Canada and the recipient of the Public Service of Canada's Outstanding Achievement Award, the highest honour in the Canadian Public Service.

1999-2002

Photo of Peter Showler 1999-2002 Peter Showler served as the Chairperson of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada from 1999 to 2002. He had previously sat as a member of the Refugee Protection Division for a six-year period.

Before being appointed to the IRB, he was Co-director of Community Legal Services, a community legal clinic in Ottawa where he specialized in the practice of immigration and refugee law.

In 2003, Mr. Showler was appointed to be the Gordon F. Henderson Chair in Human Rights at the Human Rights Research and Education Centre at the University of Ottawa where his research focussed on a comparative study of refugee protection systems in developed countries. Peter Showler now teaches Advanced Refugee Law at the University of Ottawa Law School. His current interests include the implementation of refugee status determination systems in developing countries.

2002-2007

Photo of Jean-Guy Fleury 2002-2007 Jean-Guy Fleury was appointed Chairperson of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) on November 29, 2002. Mr. Fleury had a long and distinguished public service career spanning more than 40 years, including two years as the IRB's Executive Director in the mid-1990s.

As Chairperson, Mr. Fleury led the IRB through the development and implementation of the RPD Action Plan, a three-year initiative that represented a return to the vision of what an administrative tribunal should be: simple, quick and fair. Its implementation standardized and simplified the IRB's tribunal processes; provided greater institutional guidance for decision-makers and improved the efficiency of refugee protection hearings. These measures were largely responsible for eliminating the IRB's backlog of refugee claims at the time.

Jean-Guy Fleury also initiated the IAD Innovation Initiative with a view in transforming the Immigration Appeal Division (IAD) into a less court-like, more responsive tribunal able to render decisions more quickly and efficiently, while maintaining the same high standard of justice. Mr. Fleury retired in 2007.

2007-2013

Brian Goodman, former Chairpeson Brian Goodman was called to the Ontario Bar in 1974 with a Masters Degree in Public Law. Before joining the Ontario Civil Service in 1983, he held a number of senior legal and executive positions at the Office of the Ontario Ombudsman. He served as Chair of the Rent Review Hearings Board and acted as Mining and Lands Commissioner. He was Co-Chair of the Dispute Resolution Forum, a Board member of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals (CCAT) and Co-Chair of CCAT's 2008 Annual Conference, Chair of the Conference of Ontario Boards and Agencies (COBA), and Chair of the Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators (SOAR) Committee on First Principles of Administrative Justice.

Before being appointed in May 1998 to the position of Executive Lead, Agency Reform for Ontario's Ministry of the Attorney General, he was Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Public Law. From 1997 to 1999, Mr. Goodman co-chaired the Agency Reform Working Group, which advised and supported the work of the Agency Reform Commission and subsequently was responsible for overseeing the implementation of the Commission's recommendations. Mr. Goodman also represented the Ministry on the Agency Sector Council.

Mr. Goodman was awarded the SOAR medal in 2000 in recognition of his many contributions to administrative justice. In 2001, following a stint as a member of the Consent and Capacity Board, Mr. Goodman was appointed a member of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, and assigned to the Convention Refugee Determination Division in Toronto. He was reappointed in 2003. After joining the IRB, Mr. Goodman heard and decided numerous claims for refugee protection from claimants from the Middle East, Eastern Europe and the United States.

In 2006, Mr. Goodman was named Deputy Chairperson of the Immigration Appeal Division (IAD). In this capacity, Mr. Goodman led the Division through the planning and implementation of IAD Innovation to transform the IAD into a more flexible and proactive tribunal. Mr. Goodman was designated Interim Chairperson of the IRB in March 2007, and was confirmed in this position three months later. After becoming Chairperson, Mr. Goodman continued to pursue the integration of the Board's three divisions as well as specific initiatives such as the implementation of a new code of conduct for decision-makers and a review of the Board's organizational and management structures. In 2009, Mr. Goodman was elected to the governing Council of the International Association of Refugee Law Judges. Mr. Goodman died on June 18, 2013.

Anciens présidents de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada

1989-1992

Photo de Gordon Fairweather, 1989 à 1992 De 1989 à 1992, Gordon Fairweather a exercé les fonctions de président fondateur de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR).

De 1952 à 1962, M. Fairweather a été député à l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick et a assumé les fonctions de procureur général de la province de 1958 à 1962. Il a par la suite été élu député à la Chambre des communes, où il a siégé jusqu'en 1977.

En 1977, il s'est vu confier le poste de premier président de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'en 1987. Il a fait fonction d'observateur officiel lors d'élections au Zimbabwe, au Salvador, au Guatemala et en Malaisie et a dirigé, à trois reprises, la délégation canadienne aux réunions de la Commission des droits de l'homme des Nations Unies, à Genève. En 1978, il a été fait Officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Bon nombre de personnes à la Commission conservent de lui le souvenir d'un fonctionnaire dévoué et d'un ardent défenseur des droits de la personne. Il est décédé le 24 décembre 2008, à l'âge de 85 ans.

1992-1999

Photo de Nurjehan Mawani, 1992 à 1999 Mme Mawani a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique en 1986 à titre de vice-présidente et membre de la Commission d'appel de l'immigration. Par la suite, elle a été nommée vice-présidente de la Section d'appel de l'immigration à la CISR et en a été la deuxième présidente de 1992 à 1999.

À titre de présidente, Mme Mawani a instauré les directives révolutionnaires relatives aux enfants et aux femmes qui revendiquent le statut de réfugié. Ces directives, les premières du genre au monde, ont incité d'autres pays à modifier leurs politiques dans le but de reconnaître et de prendre en compte les défis uniques qu'affrontent les femmes réfugiées.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, Mme Mawani a travaillé en Asie centrale comme représentante du Aga Khan Development Network [réseau Aga Khan de développement] dans la République kirghize. En 2007, on lui a remis le prix du Fonds de développement des Nations Unies pour la femme du Canada pour ses remarquables contributions à la promotion de la condition féminine. Mme Mawani est membre de l'Ordre du Canada et elle a reçu le Prix pour services insignes de la fonction publique du Canada, soit le plus grand honneur au sein de la fonction publique canadienne.

1999-2002

Photo de Peter Showler, 1999 à 2002 Peter Showler a été président de la CISR de 1999 à 2002. Auparavant, il a exercé les fonctions de commissaire à la Section de la protection des réfugiés pendant six ans.

Avant d'être nommé à la CISR, M. Showler s'est vu confier le poste de codirecteur d'une clinique d'aide juridique communautaire, à Ottawa, où il se spécialisait dans la pratique du droit de l'immigration et des réfugiés.

En 2003, M. Showler a été nommé à la chaire Gordon F. Henderson en droits de la personne au Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne de la Faculté de droit à l'Université d'Ottawa, où il a axé ses recherches sur une étude comparative des systèmes de protection des réfugiés dans les pays développés. M. Showler enseigne maintenant le droit approfondi des réfugiés à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa. Ses intérêts actuels sont centrés sur l'instauration de systèmes de détermination du statut de réfugié dans les pays en développement.

2002-2007

Photo de Jean-Guy Fleury, 2002 à 2007 Jean-Guy Fleury a été nommé président de la CISR le 29 novembre 2002. La carrière de M. Fleury au sein de la fonction publique a été remarquable et s'est étendue sur plus de 40 années, dont deux comme secrétaire général de la CISR au milieu des années 1990.

À titre de président, il a dirigé la CISR au cours de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR), une initiative d'une durée de trois ans qui s'est avérée un retour à la vision de ce que doit être un tribunal administratif : simple, rapide et juste. La mise en œuvre du Plan d'action de la SPR a normalisé et simplifié les processus du tribunal de la CISR; de plus, elle a aidé les décideurs en leur fournissant une meilleure orientation institutionnelle et a amélioré l'efficacité des audiences sur la protection des réfugiés. Ces mesures ont notamment permis d'éliminer l'arriéré des demandes d'asile de la CISR à cette époque.

M. Fleury a également lancé le Plan d'innovation à la Section d'appel de l'immigration (SAI) dans l'intention de transformer la SAI en un tribunal plus réceptif différent du tribunal traditionnel et qui est en mesure de rendre des décisions de façon plus rapide et efficace, tout en respectant la même norme élevée de justice. M. Fleury a pris sa retraite en 2007.

2007-2013

Brian Goodman, ancien président Brian Goodman a été admis au barreau de l'Ontario en 1974 avec une maîtrise en droit public. Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique de l'Ontario en 1983, M. Goodman a occupé plusieurs postes de cadre supérieur et d'avocat principal au bureau d'Ombudsman Ontario. Il a été président de la Commission de révision des loyers et commissaire aux mines et aux terres. Il a été coprésident du Forum canadien sur le règlement des différends, membre du conseil d'administration du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens (CTAC) et coprésident du Congrès annuel du CTAC de 2008, président du Conference of Ontario Boards and Agencies (COBA) et président du Committee on First Principles of Administrative Justice de la Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators (SOAR).

Avant sa nomination en mai 1998 au poste de responsable du Projet de réforme du réseau d'organismes pour le ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario, il était sous procureur général adjoint, droit public. De 1997 à 1999, M. Goodman a coprésidé le groupe de travail sur le Projet de réforme du réseau d'organismes, qui conseillait et appuyait le travail de la Commission de réforme du réseau d'organismes et était donc responsable de superviser la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission. M. Goodman a également représenté le Ministère auprès du Conseil du secteur des organismes.

En 2000, M. Goodman s'est vu remettre la médaille de la SOAR, en reconnaissance de ses nombreuses contributions à la justice administrative. En août 2001, après un bref mandat comme membre de la Commission du consentement et de la capacité, M. Goodman a été nommé commissaire à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada et affecté à la Section du statut de réfugié à Toronto. Son mandat a été renouvelé en 2003. Après qu'il s'est joint à la CISR, M. Goodman a entendu et tranché un grand nombre de demandes d'asile présentées par des demandeurs venant du Moyen Orient, de l'Europe de l'Est et des États-Unis.

En 2006, M. Goodman a été nommé vice-président de la Section d'appel de l'immigration (SAI). À ce titre, M. Goodman a dirigé la Section par la planification et la mise en œuvre du projet Innovation à la SAI, qui vise à rendre la SAI, plus souple et plus proactive. M. Goodman a été nommé président intérimaire de la CISR en mars 2007 et a été confirmé dans ce poste trois mois plus tard. À titre président, M. Goodman a continué de travailler à l'intégration des trois sections de la Commission ainsi qu'à des projets précis comme la mise en œuvre d'un nouveau code de déontologie pour les décideurs et l'examen de la structure organisationnelle et de la structure de gestion de la Commission. En 2009, M. Goodman a été élu au conseil d’administration de l’Association internationale des juges aux affaires des réfugiés. M. Goodman est décédé le 18 juin 2013.