RPD Member Profile

Canada has an obligation to grant protection to Convention refugees and persons in need of protection under a number of United Nations conventions to which it is a signatory. These include the Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees (1951), the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (1966) and the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman and Degrading Treatment or Punishment (1984).

The Refugee Protection Division (RPD), an independent tribunal at arm's length from government, is the division of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) that hears claims for refugee protection made in Canada and decides whether to accept them.

The RPD Member is an independent and impartial decision-maker. The RPD Member is accountable for determining whether refugee protection claims will be accepted or rejected under the provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) and its regulations. Members must render decisions orally at a hearing unless it is not practicable to do so.

The RPD Member's responsibilities involve listening, gathering, analyzing, incorporating and summarizing complex original facts to determine the nature of each case; identifying and interpreting jurisprudence and relevant Canadian, foreign and international law; listening to complex legal arguments presented by parties or by self-represented claimants.

The RPD Member prepares, organizes and plans hearings and pre-hearing conferences; conducts the review and in-depth analysis of files, analyzes the nature of the issues, verifies the relevant facts, identifies and clarifies the need for additional related information of interest, takes appropriate action, and makes decisions on refugee claims. Occasionally, the RPD Member acts as a mentor to new RPD Members, to teach them the basics of their work and ensure that they acquire the necessary knowledge through the use of various techniques.

The RPD Member also participates in regular meetings of RPD Members, RPD professional development sessions and in the work of committees set up to improve the procedural or substantive performance of the RPD. The RPD Member provides advice and feedback on policy initiatives proposed by the management of the RPD and the Board.

Profil – Commissaire, Section de la protection des réfugiés

Le Canada est tenu d'accorder l'asile aux réfugiés au sens de la Convention et aux personnes à protéger au titre d'un certain nombre de conventions des Nations Unies dont il est signataire, dont la Convention de 1951 relative au statut des réfugiés, le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques (1966) et la Convention contre la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants (1984).

La Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) est un tribunal indépendant sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement, et elle est la section de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada qui examine les demandes d'asile présentées au Canada et qui décide de les accueillir ou non.

Le commissaire de la SPR est un décideur indépendant et impartial. Le commissaire de la SPR doit décider si les demandes d'asile seront accueillies ou rejetées selon les dispositions de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés et celles de son règlement d'application. Le commissaire expose des décisions oralement à l'audience, à moins qu'il ne soit pas possible de le faire.

Le commissaire de la SPR doit assimiler, recueillir, analyser, intégrer et résumer des faits originaux complexes afin de déterminer la nature de chaque cas; cerner et interpréter la jurisprudence et le droit canadien, étranger et international pertinent; et écouter des arguments juridiques complexes présentés par les parties ou des clients non représentés.

En outre, le commissaire de la SPR prépare, organise et planifie des audiences et des conférences préparatoires. Il examine et analyse en profondeur les dossiers; analyse la nature des enjeux; vérifie les faits pertinents; détermine et clarifie le besoin de renseignements supplémentaires pertinents, prend les mesures appropriées, et statue sur les demandes d’asile. À l’occasion, le commissaire de la SPR agit comme mentor auprès des nouveaux commissaires de la SPR pour leur enseigner les rudiments de leur travail et veiller à ce qu’ils acquièrent les connaissances nécessaires par le recours à diverses techniques.

Le commissaire de la SPR prend également part aux rencontres régulières des commissaires de la SPR, à des séances de perfectionnement professionnel de la SPR, et aux travaux des comités créés pour améliorer le rendement de la SPR sur le plan de la procédure ou du fond. Le commissaire de la SPR donne des conseils et de la rétroaction sur les initiatives stratégiques proposées par la direction de la SPR et de la Commission.